Voting Rights

More on Voting Rights

Jun 18, 2020 Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – In advance of Juneteenth, Reps. Veasey (TX-33), Sewell (AL-07) and Scott (VA-03), co-chairs of the Congressional Voting Rights Caucus (CVRC), led a resolution calling for the implementation of safeguards to protect the integrity of elections and end voter suppression—crucial protections that would prevent widespread voting system malfunctions and voter discrimination in advance of the upcoming primaries and general election.

Jun 2, 2020 Press Release

FORT WORTH, TEXAS - Congressman Marc Veasey (TX-33) released the following statement on the continued North Texas protests seeking justice for the death of George Floyd and other African Americans:

Dec 17, 2019 Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congressman Marc Veasey (TX-33) of the Energy & Commerce and the Small Business Committees released the statement following today after he joined his colleagues to pass a bipartisan spending package: 

Dec 9, 2019 Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Congressman Marc Veasey (TX-33) sent a joint appropriation letter he led with Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (MD-05) and Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) to House and Senate appropriators requesting that they maintain critical funding to protect our elections at the House-passed levels of $600 million for the Help America Vote Act (HAVA) and $16.2 million for the Election Assistance Commission (EAC) in the final FY 2020 Financial Services and General Government (FSGG) Appropriations bill. The letter has been signed by approximately 60 other Members of

Dec 6, 2019 Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Congressman Marc Veasey (TX-33), founder of the Congressional Voting Rights Caucus, joined his colleagues to pass H.R. 4, the Voting Rights Advancement Act, in the U.S. House of Representatives. The Voting Rights Advancement Act is a critical piece of legislation that will restore the full strength of the Voting Rights Act, after a 2013 Supreme Court decision gutted key provisions of the act, unleashing a flood of voter suppression laws in America.

Oct 24, 2019 Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – This week, Congressman Marc Veasey (TX-33) voted to pass H.R. 4617, the Stopping Harmful Interference in Elections for a Lasting Democracy (SHIELD) Act. This strong, commonsense legislation takes bipartisan steps to fight foreign interference in our elections by strengthening reporting requirements, closing loopholes and deterring foreign activity in U.S. elections.