Rep. Marc Veasey launches the Congressional Voting Rights Caucus

May 24, 2016
Press Release
Caucus to address current voting barriers that could change the context of 2016 presidential and general elections

Washington, D.C. ― As we draw closer to the 2016 presidential and general elections, Congressman Marc Veasey, TX-33, Congresswoman Terri Sewell, AL-7, and Congressman Bobby Scott, VA-3, co-chaired and launched the first ever Congressional Voting Rights Caucus to address the immediate need to overcome the barriers our communities face when exercising their right to vote. 

Following the Supreme Court’s 2013 Shelby v. Holder decision, which dismantled key provisions of the original Voting Rights Act, 33 states have implemented laws that again make it difficult for traditionally disenfranchised communities to exercise their right to vote. In the 114th Congress, House Democrats introduced H.R. 2867, the Voting Rights Advancement Act of 2015, and H.R. 885, the Voting Rights Amendment Act of 2015, bills that would update, fix, and strengthen the landmark civil rights legislation.

“I am honored and privileged to Chair the first ever Congressional Voting Rights Caucus. As the lead plaintiff in Texas’ Voter Photo ID case, Veasey v. Abbott, I know firsthand the work that remains to be done to ensure all Americans have unfettered access to the ballot box,” said Congressman Veasey. “That is why it is important that members of Congress unite to ensure that Americans from all walks of life are able to exercise one of their fundamental rights as U.S. citizens.”

The Congressional Voting Rights Caucus was formally introduced at a press conference at the House Triangle on the U.S. Capitol grounds earlier today with the following members of Congress present:

Congressman Marc Veasey (TX-33), Congressman Xavier Becerra, Chair of the Democratic Caucus (CA-34), Congresswoman Joyce Beatty (OH-3), Congressman G.K. Butterfield, Chair of the Congressional Black Caucus (NC-1), Congressman Matt Cartwright (PA-17), Congressman David Cicilline (RI-1), Congressman John Conyers (MI-13), Congressman Ruben Gallego (AZ-7), Congressman Raul Grijalva (AZ-3), Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18), Congressman Hakeem Jeffries (NY-8), Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30), Congressman Rick Larsen (WA-2), and Congresswoman Terri Sewell (AL-7).

The goal of the Congressional Voting Rights Caucus is to educate the public on the current voter suppression tactics in place in their home states, districts, and counties, inform constituencies on their rights as voters, and to create and advance legislation that blocks current and future suppressive and discriminatory tactics that deny American citizens the sacred right to vote.

More information about the Congressional Voting Rights Caucus can be found at and high-resolution photos from today's press conference can be found here