Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Flickr icon
Instagram icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon

Congressman Marc Veasey

Representing the 33rd District of Texas

Veasey and Boyle Demand a Blue Collar Budget

Mar 23, 2017
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC –  The Congressional Blue Collar Caucus, co-chaired by Congressmen Brendan F. Boyle (D-PA) and Marc Veasey (D-TX), stands in strong opposition to the federal budget proposed by President Trump, which guts key investments in America’s infrastructure and abandons working families.

“The harsh consequences of President Trump’s budget will weigh most heavily on working Americans,” said Congressman Veasey. “Trump’s budget cuts programs that guarantee on-the-job safety and health protections for workers and eliminates job training programs that would boost wages and job opportunities across America. If President Trump is truly serious about putting ‘America First’ and getting our economy working for each and every one of us - not just the 1% - then he must offer a real budget that helps all Americans to work, save, and invest in themselves, their families, and their communities. Instead, this proposal tells our constituents: fend for yourself.”

Congressman Boyle continued, “Working-class Americans are the real engine of our economy. Not only does this budget neglect them; it puts an even heavier burden on their already strained shoulders. Cruel austerity cuts are as wrong morally as they are economically. If you believe in American workers, then invest in them and their capabilities. Give them a fair shot at economic security. Invest in transportation, don’t diminish it. Invest in childcare, don’t defund it. Mr. Trump’s budget demonstrates a failure to follow through on his campaign promises to blue collar Americans.”


The Blue Collar Caucus was formed to foster member discussion and legislative ideas focused on addressing wage stagnation, job insecurity, trade, offshoring, and dwindling career opportunities for those in the manufacturing and building trades. The caucus focuses on bringing together a diverse array of Democratic members of the House of Representatives to generate solutions that will protect American workers from globalized competition, maintain the viability of domestic manufacturing, and help to cultivate innovative industries that can provide stable employment amid rapid technological advancement.

Current Members of the Blue Collar Caucus include: Brendan F. Boyle (PA-13) (Co-Chair), Marc Veasey (TX-33) (Co-Chair), Debbie Dingell (MI-12), Rick Nolan (MN-08), Dan Kildee (MI-05), Jan Schakowsky (IL-09), Tim Ryan (OH-13), John Garamendi (CA-03), Louise Slaughter (NY-25), Matt Cartwright (PA-17), Bill Pascrell (NJ-09), Marcy Kaptur (OH-09), Mark Pocan (WI-02), Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), Dan Lipinski (IL-03), Kathy Castor (FL-14), Brian Higgins (NY-26), John Yarmuth (KY-03), Eric Swalwell (CA-15), Joe Courtney (CT-02), Alan Lowenthal (CA-47), Donald Norcross (NJ-01), Dina Titus (NV-01), Paul Tonko (NY-20), John Larson (CT-01), Chellie Pingree (ME-01), Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), Luis Gutierrez (IL-04), Cheri Bustos (IL-17), J. Luis Correa (CA-46), Stephen F. Lynch (MA-08), Seth Moulton (MA-06), and Carol Shea-Porter (NH-01).