Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Flickr icon
Instagram icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon

Congressman Marc Veasey

Representing the 33rd District of Texas

Congressman Veasey Co-Sponsors Bill to Boost Unity and Deterrence Against Russian Aggression

Jun 22, 2017
Press Release

Washington, DC – Today, Congressman Marc Veasey (D-TX), member of the House Armed Services Committee, joined House Armed Services Committee Ranking Member Adam Smith (D-WA) and 21 other original co-sponsors, in introducing the Fostering Unity Against Russian Aggression Act of 2017.

The Fostering United Against Russian Aggression Act of 2017 would force the Trump administration to create a comprehensive plan on Russia and increase sanctions. “I support this bill because it embraces a clear and all-inclusive approach to countering the serious threats that Russia poses to our nation’s democracy. It’s time that America takes a strong stance against their provocations,” said Congressman Veasey.

“I am pleased to work with Congressman Veasey on this bill to forcefully and responsibly counter Russian aggression, its violation of arms treaties, and its campaign to erode democratic values worldwide,” said Ranking Member Adam Smith. “It is time for Congress to lead on this issue, especially given President Trump’s unwillingness take the danger seriously. This bill adopts an intelligent and proactive approach to strengthening allied and partner defenses, increasing deterrence, and boosting our cohesion while requiring measures to reduce the risk of miscalculation and accidental nuclear war.”

A summary of the bill is available here and its text can be found here.

The bill’s original co-sponsors are Rep. Marc Veasey (D-TX), Ranking Member Adam Smith (D-WA), Rep. Bob Brady (D-PA), Rep. Susan Davis (D-CA), Rep. Jim Langevin (D-RI), Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN), Rep. Madeleine Bordallo (D-GU), Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT), Rep. Niki Tsongas (D-MA), Rep. John Garamendi (D-CA), Rep. Jackie Speier (D-CA), Rep. Donald Norcross (D-NJ), Rep. Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), Rep. Seth Moulton (D-MA), Rep. Colleen Hanabusa (D-HI), Rep. Carol Shea-Porter (D-NH), Jep. Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Rep. Donald McEachin (D-VA), Rep. Salud Carbajal (D-CA), Rep. Anthony Brown (D-MD), Rep. Stephanie Murphy (D-FL), Rep. Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ), and Rep. Thomas Suozzi (D-NY).