Blue Collar Caucus Co-Chairs Slam Passage of GOP Tax Scam

Dec 20, 2017
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Blue Collar Caucus co-chairs Congressmen Marc Veasey (D-TX) and Brendan F. Boyle (D-PA) released the following statement in response to the final passage of the Republican tax overhaul:

“The GOP Tax Scam is a shameful betrayal of the middle class and a deliberate punch to the gut of the American worker. Despite overwhelming opposition from the vast majority of the American public, President Trump and Congressional Republicans jammed through a bill that slashes taxes for corporations and their mega-wealthy executives while asking 86 million hardworking middle class families to foot the bill. They cross their fingers that workers might eventually get a trickle of the benefits, but we all know better.

“This legislation represents an explicit reversal from Mr. Trump’s many promises to the American worker. Rather than close loopholes, end outsourcing, or invest in infrastructure, the bill actually undermines each priority. This corporate giveaway creates new loopholes, further enables outsourcing, and squanders our best chance at financing infrastructure investment while simultaneously ballooning our deficit and fueling cuts to discretionary spending.

“As leaders of the Blue Collar Caucus, we have stood ready to work with anyone to lift up the middle class and the American worker, strengthen their hand and help make the American Dream of a higher paycheck and better future for our children attainable again. We introduced the Patriot Employer Act to close loopholes that encourage corporations to send jobs overseas, and provide tax credits to employers that invest in American workers, pay fair wages, and provide employees with robust benefits. This was the kind of tax reform and investment in America that Mr. Trump promised as a candidate. Instead, he and Congressional Republicans passed legislation that gives a staggering 83% of the tax cuts to the wealthiest 1 percent; raises health insurance premiums; and undermines critical funding for schools, firefighters, and law enforcement agencies in our communities. Actions speak louder than words.

We vow to continue to hold the President, his administration, and Congressional Republicans accountable to American workers. Most importantly, we will continue to fight for an agenda in Washington that lifts up working families rather than continuing to stack the deck further against them.”


The Blue Collar Caucus was formed to foster member discussion and legislative ideas focused on addressing wage stagnation, job insecurity, trade, offshoring, and dwindling career opportunities for those in the manufacturing and building trades. The caucus focuses on bringing together a diverse array of Democratic members of the House of Representatives to generate solutions that will protect American workers from globalized competition, maintain the viability of domestic manufacturing, and help to cultivate innovative industries that can provide stable employment amid rapid technological advancement.

Current Members of the Blue Collar Caucus include: Brendan F. Boyle (PA-13) (Co-Chair), Marc Veasey (TX-33) (Co-Chair), Debbie Dingell (MI-12), Rick Nolan (MN-08), Dan Kildee (MI-05), Jan Schakowsky (IL-09), Tim Ryan (OH-13), John Garamendi (CA-03), Louise Slaughter (NY-25), Matt Cartwright (PA-17), Bill Pascrell (NJ-09), Marcy Kaptur (OH-09), Mark Pocan (WI-02), Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), Dan Lipinski (IL-03), Kathy Castor (FL-14), Brian Higgins (NY-26), John Yarmuth (KY-03), Eric Swalwell (CA-15), Joe Courtney (CT-02), Alan Lowenthal (CA-47), Donald Norcross (NJ-01), Dina Titus (NV-01), Paul Tonko (NY-20), John Larson (CT-01), Chellie Pingree (ME-01), Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), Luis Gutierrez (IL-04), Cheri Bustos (IL-17), J. Luis Correa (CA-46), Stephen F. Lynch (MA-08), Seth Moulton (MA-06), Carol Shea-Porter (NH-01), Derek Kilmer (WA-06), Vicente Gonzalez (TX-15), and Anthony Brown (MD-04).