Amid COVID-19 Pandemic, Rep. Veasey (TX-33) Reintroduces Bill to Incentivize Medicaid Expansion

Jan 15, 2021
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Congressman Marc Veasey of the Energy and Commerce Committee, reintroduced the Incentivizing Medicaid Expansion Act to extend Medicaid coverage availability in the twelve states that have yet to accept Medicaid Expansion under the Affordable Care Act. Amid an unprecedented pandemic, millions of individuals in certain states are left without any healthcare coverage. Today’s legislation would help close this gap and ensure Americans have access to life-saving health care coverage.  

“The coronavirus pandemic has exacerbated the existing health care disparities that face low-income communities,” said Congressman Marc Veasey. “This legislation would provide an important step forward to close the health care coverage gaps in state likes my home state of Texas—a state that has one of the highest uninsured rates in the country—and ensure the most vulnerable Texans can have access to affordable and life-saving health care. It’s imperative that more American lives won’t be unjustly lost to the hands of the pandemic.”

This expansion would allow low-income families and non-elderly adults, without children, to become eligible to enroll in Medicaid with access to affordable health insurance. Right now, this population is without the option to enroll in Medicaid and often do not qualify for tax credits under the ACA marketplace. Additionally, over 90 percent of rural hospital closures have been in states that did not expand Medicaid. 

States that have yet to accept the expansion are slated to miss out on roughly $305 billion between 2013 and 2022. This bill would allow states to receive 100 percent Federal Medical Assistance Percentages for the first three years a newly eligible individual is enrolled in the Medicaid program; 95 percent for the fourth year, 94 percent for the fifth year, 93 percent for the sixth year, and 90 percent each year thereafter. 

Currently, the bill has 27 original cosponsors.